The Cleverest Idiot In The Room.

22 Jun

I ran the entire gamut of the smart-idiot scale less than five minutes after getting home tonight. 

The local news was on, and in particular, a story about a new direct bus between Truro and Newquay airport that’ll be starting soon. “A pilot service will be running next week” said the newsreader “That’s all well and good, but what about the passengers‽” I snarked back from the kitchen.

I cracked that joke and was incredibly impressed at my own comic stylings shining through, even at the end of a long day. Did either of my parents give it the praise it deserved? No they did not. It actually made me sad that Newsjack is currently on hiatus, because the BBC would already be sorting my clearance to the writers’ room.

I then went and ruined it all once I’d gone back into the living room, and said “Dueto Festival? What’s that?”

“What?”

“The Dueto Festival. It’s on that placard.”

“Are you being serious?”

“Yes. “Road closed Dueto Festival this weekend”. Oh. I’m an idiot. Never mind.”

And that is why kerning is so important, kids – even with hand painted things. So that Zoe doesn’t look like an absolute twat more often than she needs to. 

So...what do you think?

