Take 5.

12 Jan

After committing myself to running a 5k (at the very least) at some point this year, I took today’s day off as an opportunity to head to the gym, get my arse onto a treadmill and actually do a 5k just to see how horrendous it was.

It was…fine. It was absolutely fine. Admittedly I ran bits of it and speed walked the rest, but I managed the whole distance without crying, being sick or having an asthma attack, which was really excellent news.

My time wasn’t fast, I’d get nothing but a participation medal, and none of the professional or semi professional athletes need to worry about me coming and usurping their funding at any point soon. But considering I pretty much loathe any kind of exercise, and that running was something I was putting off until the inevitable zombie apocalypse, I’m pretty bloody proud of myself.

I’ve a lot of work to do in order to bring my overall time down and my general fitness up before I start running in public (because running at the gym is a whole other kettle of fish) but my proposed 5k will be happening. And it will be sooner rather than later.

So...what do you think?

