The Best Me I Can Be.

1 Jan

I am no longer in the business of making resolutions that I know deep down I won’t keep. 

This year is going to be all about tiny goals that will add up and make me, in general a better person. 

1. I’m going to be a better friend. I spent a lot of last year focusing on myself (which is not necessarily a bad thing, because it got me to a very good place), so now I want to turn my thoughts and time to the people in my life mean the most to me. 

2. I’m going to try my best to be better with money. There are things I want to do this year, like learn to drive and move into a flat of my own, and those kinds of things don’t happen without having those dollar dollar bills behind you. Admittedly, one of my most recent purchases was a candy floss machine, but that was last year, so it doesn’t really count. I’ve also done my best to plan ahead in the year, sorting all of my Machynlleth Comedy Festival travel and the first half of my accommodation, to assure I’m not flapping come the end of April.

3. I’m going to run a 5k this year. I did consider saying half, or even full marathon, but that will probably kill me, and I need to leave some goals for 2017. When I say run, I mean actually run for the whole 5k, not do what I do at the gym at the moment, which is run for 1k, speed walk for another 1k and then be too exhausted and out of breath to do the other 3k. I’ve got 12 whole months to work on it, remember.

4. I’m going to get my fringe trimmed more regularly. I spent far too much of the last year looking like the Dulux dog had rolled around in African Adventure 3 (a genuine Dulux pair colour there) and when fringe trims are free it just makes sense.

Basically, I just want to be the best version of myself I can be, and I have a feeling that I have the kind of support network around me that’ll let me do that, and remind me of the things I can do whenever I forget it, or times get a little difficult. 

So...what do you think?

