A Perfect Year?

31 Dec

It’s New Year’s Eve, and I’ve just woken up from a nap. No, I am not slumped in the corner of a stranger’s living room at a house party, a heady cocktail of drugs and alcohol having hit me hard. I am lying on my bed, curled up under my throw, with my leggings still on because I was too lazy to change once I got home. As you can see, I’m as rock and roll as ever, and havent’ changed that much from last year.

WRONG.

2015 was a time of massive change for me, with a few key events making the biggest impact, as opposed to small things over the course of the last 12 months.

I got an actual, full time job, the kind that real grown ups have. Even though most days scare the crap out of me, and I still haven’t shaken the impostor syndrome that I experience every time someone asks to speak to a manager, you can bet your bottom dollar that I am trying to be the best damned Ass Man I can be.

I surrounded myself this year with people who were extremely supportive and were very good friends, even when I was being a crap friend, which is something that I put my hands up and freely admit to being. It’s on my list of resolutions (more on that tomorrow) so just hang in there, and thank you for being wonderful.

The weight loss that I said I wanted to do for probably about 5 or so years (in reality it’s much longer, but then you have a teenager with horrible body image issues and then it all gets a bit sad) has actually happened. I’ve still got a little way to go, but I’m certainly closer to being happy with the way I look than I have been for a very long time. I promise that I am still good for hugging/spooning duties when such a thing is necessary. Joining the gym was genuinely one of the best decisions I made this year, as not only has it helped me lose weight, it’s also given me time to myself in an environment where literally nobody else gives a toss about what you’re doing, just to work through some emotional stuff in my head. Nobody notices if you’re welling up on a treadmill, and they have built in fans so you can claim any tears as sweat/a side effect of the wind getting in your eyes. Genius.

So farewell, 2015. You were pretty bloody good. Here’s to 2016 being even better.

So...what do you think?

