Flatshare Slamdown.

13 Oct

I swear, if I see the words “flat share” again on any flat that I’m looking at, I will go spare.

I like people. I just want to be able to go home to my own house at the end of the day. Alone. Not sharing with anyone.

If you hadn’t guessed, I’m currently trying to find a flat to move out to now that I’ve actually got a full time job. Only problem is, even with a proper salary, my spending money after taking out rent, bills, tax etc. is about £100 per month. And that has to cover food and travel as well.

Who thought that a five figure job would actually mean you’re still poor?

Not me. Being an adult is RUBBISH.

I went to go and see a flat this afternoon that was, for want of a better word, laughable. The largest room was smaller than my current bedroom, and the bathroom was set out in such a way that there would have been no way for me to stand up in the bath, even at 5’4″. I was not going to pay £340 a month for an unfurnished box and neck strain.

I’ve got another viewing tomorrow, and the flat looks like an absolute dream. I’m just already heartbroken because I’m definitely not going to be able to afford to live there. Still. It’ll get me starting to think about the kinds of things I want and don’t want in the place I live.

In better news, we had a podcast meeting this evening, and I feel energised about the new direction we’re taking in this, our second year of episodes. Always good to have a refresh, I think.

So...what do you think?

