Prick Up Your Ears: The Big Podcast

25 May

If you think that I’m not a complete idiot, then it might be high time for you to reconsider that opinion based on what I’m about to talk about. 

On June the 5th, I shall be returning to my spiritual radio home on Tone Radio at the University of Gloucestershire for what might jut be the most stupid decision of my broadcasting career (ha!) so far. 

I’m co-hosting what is set to be the World’s Longest Podcast, along with my good friend Johnny Robinson.

Whaaaaaaaaaaaat?!?!?!?!?!?!

I know. I’m batshit crazy for agreeing to it, but I didn’t have much else on my plate so I thought I might as well. 

But enough of my negativity. I should probably explain what the plan actually is. 

At 9am on the 5th, Johnny and I start our podcast. At 3pm on the 6th, we stop. 30 non-stop (except for wee breaks because even though I am willing to discuss adult stuff in our podcast, the line is drawn at literal toilet humour.) hours of talking and laughing and a rapid descent into goodness knows what. 

Some of you reading this might not even know that I do a podcast, as I don’t bang on about it loads. We’re on Audioboom AND iTunes, don’t you know? They censor the Prick in our title which never fails to make me laugh. If you search for it, you will find it. If you see me as an angelic being who would never be foul mouthed, you might want to avoid it. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. 

WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS RIDICULOUS THING, ZOE?

Good question, Zoe! 

It’s for charity, of course. And I know what you’re all thinking. I do so much for charity already, does my generosity know no bounds? No. It does not.

Sarcasm aside, we’re raising money for Dig Deep, who are doing amazing work in Kenya, getting clean water to the people that desperately need it.

Johnny’s fiancĂ©e is climbing Mount Kilimanjaro, but that’s not really our thing, so we’re doing a mountain of a podcast instead.

Plus, if we can break, or rather set, a record in the process, brilliant. 

And yes, 30 hours doesn’t sound that long, but when you’re talking almost constantly for that time, it’s very long. 

So here’s the bit I know you’re all dreading. The bit where I ask you to chuck a bit of money our way in order to make this stupid, stupid podcast idea feel like it’s not all in vain (you probably think this podcast is about us etc. etc.). Plus, if you put in some cash now, you can hide me from social media over the 5th and 6th and not feel totally guilty. 

CLICK HERE TO MAKE A DONATION AND FEEL GOOD FOR A BIT.

We’re really excited about the podcast, but ultimately a bit terrified, so if you happen to have any suggestions for things we could do, or challenges you’d be willing to set us in exchange for money, then do let us know. I draw the line at actual prostitution though. 

I’m now off to go and write some totally off the cuff material for Hour 17. Excuse me. 

(For a slightly more coherent version of all the stuff I’ve said above you can check out the PRESS RELEASE.)

So...what do you think?

