The Pain Attraction.

16 Feb

CALLED IT.

I said last week that I would have a tendon flare up today and gosh darn it, I was right.

Those of you who’ve been around a whole will know that from time to time, the tendons in my right hand swell up, leaving it painful and in need of a very attractive wrist brace with a metal plate inside.

And it’s not even like I’ve been doing anything fun with my hand (STOP THAT. STOP THAT IDEA FORMING IMMEDIATELY.), like using it to check how well done a steak is.

IMG_9839
(That will blow your mind if you didn’t know about it before now.)

It’s simply down to putting money into the cash boxes at work. Because it’s a very repetitive movement of pulling out the drawer, putting the money in, closing the drawer and pushing down the handle, all with one hand – my dominant, right one.

I’ll probably do that 70 or so times a day, depending on how busy we are. (I literally have no idea how many customers I serve during an average shift. That’s now piqued my curiosity somewhat dangerously, and I kind of want to buy one of those clickers and find out. Saying that, I’d end up doing all the clicking with my right hand too, and that would just exacerbate all my problems.) As is was in for most of last week, all of that hand use and repetition (AGAIN I STRESS THIS IS NOT RUDE, JUST ME DOING MY JOB.) built up, leaving my tendons inflamed and my hand very, very sore.

Thankfully, these next few days off should be enough to give my hand a bit less work to do (OH GOD THE HOLE, I CANNOT STOP DIGGING IT.) and time to get back to normal. She says. Whilst writing a blog. On her smartphone. With her thumbs. Cough.

That title seemed like a good idea until I realised that it’s probably going to be misconstrued, particularly thanks to a particular film that’s just been released. FML. Also, I’m not addicted to painkillers either. That’s not what all this was about.

So...what do you think?

