Time Immemorial

12 Apr

If anyone knows a better way to spend a Saturday evening than dancing around your childhood bedroom with Spotify on shuffle, then please enlighten me.

Please.

I’m spending my evenings at home either
A) Asleep
B) Having a little cry about the whole “not much time left at University” situation
Or
C) Doing exactly the same thing I used to do of an evening 10 years ago, in exactly the same room, but with an online music streaming service as opposed to CDs or cassettes.

I found this whilst tidying up today:

20140412-224450.jpg

What I didn’t notice until about two seconds ago, when rotating this photo, was the date. 10 years ago yesterday was the date that I made that tape. A cassette tape that I recorded something off the radio onto.

HOW MAD IS THAT?

In 10 years I’ve gone from being one of those mental people you hear about in music retrospective programmes who used to pirate their music from the radio, to someone who is days away from finishing a degree in radio production.

I can’t remember the last time I listened to something on cassette, despite it clearly not being *that* long ago.

Time changes people, and things, and frankly I’m kind of glad that I don’t have to try and fit a Walkman or portable CD player into my bag every time I want to drown out the world around me.

So...what do you think?

