Categories
Uncategorized

All Bets Are Off.

I have a fair few skills, like most people.

This week, I have had to face the fact that I am no good at subtlety OR betting.

The two are mutually exclusive, but it’s the betting that I really want to focus on.

Despite having lived in Cheltenham since 2011, I’ve never actually been to see the horse racing (as anything other than a member of staff), or made a bet on the sport.

Since it’s my last Gold Cup here, I thought that I might as well have a little flutter.

I made exactly £0.00 on my bets.

I thought it was pretty safe to go with the favourites, but that backfired as none of my horses finished first. Whoever the person giving the horse tips on the Guardian is, they need to be put under a big tent and be shot.

(I obviously don’t really mean that. Not all of us can do our job perfectly every day.)

Betting can now be ticked off my “to do” list. Next up? Well, we’ll have to wait and see…

So...what do you think?