Retiresome.

22 Dec

Reader, I have got some serious growing up to do.

I may turn 23 next year, but two days ago my Dad retired.

Like…forever. No more work. Retired.

I only found this out on Wednesday, but it has completely screwed with my brain since then.

I mean…retired is such a final word. Does that even make sense? I don’t even know any more. Maybe I expected to have settled down and had a family and a proper career before either of my parents retired. Perhaps because in my head it’s:

Retirement -> Retirement Home  -> No Longer Being Alive

And I don’t want to think about the crushing inevitability of that final bit, not this close to Christmas.

So...what do you think?

