And They Call It Puppet Love.

22 Aug

It had to happen at some point.

After I was approached by two young puppets at the 2012 Edinburgh Fringe Festival and was told in no uncertain terms (and in hideously graphic detail) that they both wanted to do the dirty with me (hi Mum), it was only a matter of time until I actually went and saw their show. I didn’t quite think it would take me a year, but FINALLY I have seen Boris and Sergey, the brainchild of Flabbergast Theatre, perform.

And it was bloody marvellous. I often find it a little difficult to suspend my disbelief when it comes to puppets, as I’m a fairly logical person, but I spent the entire hour just…feeling like a kid again. It was so much fun and it was filthy, and clever and moving and brilliant. It’s just a shame I’m going to have to wait until 2014 to see the sequel, when they’ll no doubt be up with their third show.

Today was a proper Fringe day, in that I’ve seen more than two shows. I saw Wardens this afternoon, which made a nice change from straight stand up or sketch, then it was Ian Smith –
Booked on a whim (because I had a gap) but incredibly enjoyable. He was followed by the big kahunas Max and Ivàn. OH MY GOODNESS THEIR SHOW IS WONDERFUL AND I SHALL BE SAD IF THEY DON’T WIN THE AWARD FOR BEST SHOW THIS YEAR. Seriously. I nearly did a cry at this year’s show, which is utterly ridiculous. Having seen their previous two shows, I can say without doubt that it’s the best show they’ve ever done. Plus any show that has R Kelly’s Ignition as the music playing whilst the audience arrives and leaves is alright by me.

They were followed by Flabbergast Theatre. And now I’m about to head off to Hot Dub Time Machine. Excited is an understatement. I just think it’s going to be a perfect way to round off my time in Edinburgh and is going to make it a little less painful to go home tomorrow afternoon. Sniff.

One Response to “And They Call It Puppet Love.”

  1. Josh Rodell (@MagnificentJosh) August 23, 2013 at 8:40 am #

    Never confuse the remix to Ignition (hot and fresh out the kitchen muma rollin’ that body got every man in here wishin’) with the song Ignition.

    One is good, one is baaad.

So...what do you think?

